Why is bjj all drama

Johnsonville

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
Maybe it's just the gym I'm at, but the Muay Thai class has no bullshit at all. I've been training here for two months and only one of them been doing bjj and all I see are arguments and shit talking behind each other's backs.

A few examples: a blue belt girl who is fat as fuck tried fighting me because I kept tapping her with "strength moves", which was a kimura that I didn't rip, eased into and didn't injure her. She also got into a fight with another guy over something he said. I often hear them talking shit about each other While I'm in Muay Thai. It's also kind of gay that every class ends with a photo and clapping.

I never saw any of this shit at my old mma gym and none of this goes on during Muay Thai. I'm partially convinced this is part of traditional gi bjj culture or maybe there's just shit people in the class and they chill out during striking. Is this common?
~DaViD~

You just gave an example of one girl who was being a pain. And clapping/photos after class isn't usually considered drama. So that's one example you tried to turn into 2, then another 'example' thats not an example of anything, except maybe strong comradery and team culture. You may have some anger issues yourself.

Yeah I think it sounds like a handful of individuals in your particular class.
Lots of gyms have their own culture. Sounds like you don’t like yours.

Meh, you find assholes and drama in most aspects of life: work, social circles, family.

Why would sports/hobbies be any different?

Must just be the people in the class. The Muay Thai guys are all cool as shit, but there's always some bullshit happening in bjj. It also might have to do with people going live more I guess can lead to more issues, but I never had any nonsense like this in no gi or striking

~DaViD~

Gym culture is full of drama.

Muay thai is a little more laid back but it's not much different.