Too late to give MMA a real go?

Ravo

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
I know, I know... Millions of these threads about, but this goes out to anyone who had maybe started out around the same age as me? I'm 19, and really want to start pushing my potential MMA career. I've been doing Muay Thai for around 6 months, a bit of wrestling and No-Gi BJJ here and there. With my work it is difficult to train at one place all the time, because of schedules etc, but have made myself up a training schedule that my current situation would allow me to do, it's between two gyms but I can do it lol.

Monday: Thai Boxing 6:15pm - 7:45
Tuesday: Thai Boxing 6:15pm - 7:30 + Gi BJJ 8:30 - 9:45
Wednesday: Thai Boxing 6:15pm - 7:45
Thursday: Thai Boxing 6:15pm - 7:30 + MMA 8:00 - 9:00
Friday: Thai Boxing: 6:15pm - 7:45
Saturday: Wrestling: 9:00am - 10:00 + MMA 10:00am - 11:30
Sunday: Gi BJJ 12:00pm - 1:15

Following that schedule, plus any extra boxing sessions and 1 to 1's I can fit in for each martial art, do you reckon I'd have much of a chance of being decent at MMA?

For reference the coaches are pretty good for each art. Multiple Muay Thai champions at the gym, BJJ instructor is a long time Black Belt, one wrestling coach is a former British wrestling champion, the other has practiced Greco-Roman for over 20 years. The only thing is there is no solidified MMA coach, usually the Greco-Roman coach will take the MMA class, but his stand-up can seem a bit odd at times. I know the gym is looking for an MMA coach, as it's such a rising sport and such.

I know you're randomers on the internet, but I feel like it may be too late for me and am purely wondering if any of youse had started around my age and have found any success? My Thai boxing game is decent, I feel like my striking is pretty neat and I'm naturally flexible and agile, which suits me well for the Jiu Jitsu.

Cheers fellas! :)

Sincerely, I wish you luck and I hope that you become the best athlete that you possibly can.