Teaching bjj to kids

SubCon Dan

White Belt
Reaction score
Teaching Children Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu | Submission Control

Hey guys and girls. Just thought I'd share an article written about teaching kids bjj. For any newer teachers and experienced ones, this should help with class structure and mentality among other things. Its definitely a whole new world teaching the little ones, compared to instructing beginner adults. Hope you enjoy.

Thank you.

At what age do you start letting them do submissions? Our kids learn submissions right away. I first teach kids how to tap. How to recognize a tap. The importance of tapping. etc... Then, I positively reenforce when they tap appropriately. "Good job, Sarah. Nice tap." "Good job stopping on the tap, Joey." "Get ready to tap." "He's almost tapping."
This does require hands on and close assessment. Most people know I am a elementary school teacher. The kids safety is very important to me. Anytime a kid says, "Ouwee", I stop and remind them that there shouldn't be any ouwee's in jiu jitsu. If you are doing it right, nobody should get hurt.

Thanks again.

My girlfriend and I have had her son in BJJ for about a year now. he is seven and enjoys it very much. He started learning subs right of the bat but similar to the other poster tapping was focused on constantly. Anybody in the NW Houston area interested in putting their child in BJJ check out Art Alvarado's place.

11902 Jones Rd. Suite "L" Houston, Tx. 77070

My girlfriend and I have had her son in BJJ for about a year now. he is seven and enjoys it very much. He started learning subs right of the bat but similar to the other poster tapping was focused on constantly. Anybody in the NW Houston area interested in putting their child in BJJ check out Art Alvarado's place.

11902 Jones Rd. Suite "L" Houston, Tx. 77070

and someday you will tell him to do his homework and he will choke you out. :p

350jlvp.jpg