supplements for bjj

triangle killer

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I'm new to supplements so not really sure what I should take.

The main reason is to improve my recovery/performance for bjj.

I have done some reading and creatine seems like a good option as well as whey protein. Should I mix them together or take them seperatly? Also is there anything else that I could take?

I'd rather gain weight than lose it and have seen that the creatine can help add muscle mass and improve stregth which would be a good thing but I won't be doing any weights outside of bjj.

protein, of course. i usually drink after rolling. I felt alot stronger when taking creatine but thirsty all the time. especially after long rolling. but i have heard people having mixed results with it, so im not going to give any input on that.
really all you need is protein.

Experiment with a solid multi-vitamin and protein powder for your base nutritional needs.

From there try using creatine monohydrate combined with glutamine, taurine, and beta-alanine for post-workout recovery - there's more scientific AND real-world evidence suggesting these three specific compounds work wonders for recovery & consistent performance (formulas exist containing all 3 as well). Amino acids (not protein powders) during exercise/ training can help boost performance without spiking blood-glucose levels or adding calories to your diet.

Other than that, you really don't "need" anything else but these as a solid foundation of supplements for recovery & restoration, but considering other parameters of performance & recuperation as well as experimenting with different supplements is always ideal.

I would also recommend fish oil & joint support supplements if you're just now getting into them and you're grappling and doing MMA. Your joints will wear out faster than you think.