St Paul, MN - Am I crazy to start a free BJJ club?

Refreshing

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
Hey guys!

I have been practicing BJJ for 2 years and I love it. When my son was born this year my wife urged me to temporarily stop BJJ because my free time does not coincide with ANY of the BJJ class times (we have no family to help babysit). I still exercise every morning while watching my son and I have a BJJ friend who rolls with me in my backyard once every few weeks but this isn't enough.

I want to start a club that meets once a week to roll and do some easy drilling in the grass at my local park. The two other guys that I have rolled with in the grass both agree that it isn't much different than rolling on mats. However, the end goal would be to purchase some mats for my garage so we can continue to roll through the winter.

The club would not be used for instruction but instead it would be a place for friends to practice the skills that they learned from their gym. So ideally every member would be affiliated with a gym.

However, I worry that if I start a club that does not require a monthly fee and create a website to attract some members I will instead attract weirdo's, violent people, or the fat guy who thinks he is Bruce Lee. I also worry about potential legal issues if someone gets hurt. I assume that I can't personally be sued since we would be training in a public park but I am not a lawyer. What do you guys think? Good or bad idea?

The grass gets real annoying real fast. You are going to be covered in grass bits and get rashes from it. I used to train on grass too. It's not a good long term solution. At least get some cheap puzzle mats to throw over the grass.