Savate

Pacquiao3:16

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I took my first Savate class yesterday and I thought it was fun and fast-paced.
Should I continue doing it to help me in MMA?

i'm in my 4th year of savate and i still enjoy it. the kicking practice alone is worth it

EVerytime I see somebody mention Savate the only thing I can think of is Gerard Gordeau from UFC 1, and when he kicked out that sumo wrestlers tooth. I've never understood why it isn't a more common style in todays MMA scene.

Isnt it illegal to do a MT style Kick in savate?

Saw a program about it once, where they mentioned that they had to chamber the leg and to a TKD kick in order to score points.

Pacquiao3:16 said:
I took my first Savate class yesterday and I thought it was fun and fast-paced.
Should I continue doing it to help me in MMA?

I love Savate, though relatively recently I began focusing more on my MT training for various reasons - none of them pertaining to any dislike of the fine art of French Foot Fencing.
I often read posts asking "can I use XYZ in MMA?", and it surprises me somewhat. If you train well for all of the "MMA-ish" contingencies while pursuing Savate, I'm sure you could benefit greatly from the work. If you take Muay Thai from some Thai Yoda but don't apply yourself, you'd be MUCH worse off. That said, I will try to address some of the "challenges" you might encounter while trying to adapt Savate technique to an MMA environment. Please understand I don't fight competitively, so hopefully some of the vets on this board can chime in if I mis-state something (but I DO train and spar with grappling techniques).