problems with running the pipe

machomang

Blue Belt
@Blue
Reaction score
For starters, my wrestling is very rudimentary. I've been training for 5 years but the gym I'm at teaches very little takedowns. I know the basics of the single leg. I know to keep good posture, I know to circle when running the pipe. I keep my head in the ribs. But for whatever reason, my opponent is able to maintain balance. What are the nuances? What am I missing? What should I chain if running the pipe is unsuccessful? What is the ideal head position? I've been taught to keep it on the inside or on the ribs so that I don't get guillotined but I see guys like DC keeping their head on the outside.

Out of curiosity, why the reverse and not the normal Barzegar? Just personal preference?
I prefer the reverse because it’s harder to counter or whizzer out of like the frontside barzegar. That’s my personal opinion though

What do you combo with the reverse barzegar? I'm especially curious about what to do if you can't get to the rear leg, does his reaction help you switch to an elevated finish (ankle to armpit) or to a low finish? If I get to the rear leg, the finish is pretty reliable, but do you ever have trouble finishing once you have the rear leg?

What do you combo with the reverse barzegar? I'm especially curious about what to do if you can't get to the rear leg, does his reaction help you switch to an elevated finish (ankle to armpit) or to a low finish? If I get to the rear leg, the finish is pretty reliable, but do you ever have trouble finishing once you have the rear leg?
If you can’t get to his rear leg it means that his legs are spread apart and he has a wide base. If that is the case then running the pipe should be easy to hit. When you run the pipe he will hop his free leg closer to his captured leg in an attempt to maintain his balance. When he does that his legs will be closer and you should be able to hit the Barzegar/Reverse Barzegar.