Private lesson questions

purples and browns usually charge around $20-$50 for private lessons. Black belts usually charge around $100. You could learn BJJ from privates only, but it is hard and you have to do "semi-privates" and roll at open mat a lot.

roll with as many different people as possible, but privates might help for techniique if your not picking it up quickly in group.

privates can only do so much, but if you add regular training with privates then youll be a very good grappler, shit varies though,,,

I will take a private when I start having the $$$ to work on things specifically I need to work on. Nothing like taking 1 hr and getting 1 on 1 instruction on your weakest point.

As a beginner, I don't see anything wrong with taking privates from a purple or brown. I've heard some of the "phenoms" such as BJ Penn and Mike Fowler have taken a ton of privates on their accelerated path to BB.

I would think that if you were taking Privates as you main way of learning BJJ, you would progress quicker. With typical classes, things go at a slower pace, since there is ALOT of redundancy due to irregular class attendance. With privates, your instructor knows exactly where you are in the scheme of things, as well as what you need to work.

Privates helped me immensely. You should roll with as many people as you can but take your weakness' and focus on those in privates.

Wouldnt be a bad idea if you can afford it. Or you could buy a few DVD's and start teaching yourself..lol

our instructor (purple belt) does a great job in semi-privates. i tend to pick up alot quicker in semi-privates, or even smaller classes than when we have a full classroom. try it out, you might get more out of it.

Necro post ... almost ten years old!

So, what are the going rates for privates in 2017?

How about
Purple-50
Brown-60
Black-75
A well known black-150-200
Rafa, Caio, buchecha 400?

More black belts = lower cost?