Noob at sparring

Mani

Green Belt
@Green
Reaction score
Hi

Been training Muay Thai for about 10 months and in the last few weeks I've took the next step and started sparring.

Only done about 6-7 rounds and obviously I'm not very good at it. I'm not nervous or scared of being punched I just don't have the skills yet.

How long did it take you all to become quite competent in the ring at sparring where you could put into practice the techniques you'd learnt?

At the moment all I seem to be doing is getting hit and pushed about everywhere and even had my nose busted last night. The problem I have is at my gym I'm the only one out of the group of beginners that has decided to start sparring so I'm always up against people that have a few amateur bouts under their belts so straight away I'm at a disadvantage.

Thanks for reading. Any tips for me or is it just a case of getting beat up for a while and something clicking into place?

It's not probably something that will "click", unless you make the same big mistake every time... It's just something you will get better at... You may not realize it if you always spar against better, more experienced guys, but the day you will spar against a beginner you will understand how much you progressed.

So my opinion is, that as long as the other guys don't treat you just as a punching bag, full blasting at you during every sec of the session, hang in there, it will worth it.

Don't try to win when sparring, just try to do good. Protect your self according to basics, attack according to basics, and every now and then, you may try something different to see how it goes...
Sparring is for learning, matches are for winning...

Train to pull your punches and not hit higher level people and fighters hard...that way, they won't bust you up. They'll pull their power also. You'll last a lot longer in order to get better. There's no formula really, other than to just keep sparring.