1h30 mma class

day B

warm-up: shadowboxing
30-min heavy bag work
solo bjj drills
double end bag/throw bag

Oh, and I spar 1x a week

please note: I am a 18 year old beginner

I will be alternating between these two workouts, 5 times week.

What should I add? What should I get rid of? I would appreciate some feedback.

Last edited:
Identify your goals and add/subtract activities in accordance with your priorities.

If you can, stick to doing most of your martial arts training in the classes. That way your instructor can keep an eye on you and make sure you're not developing any bad habits.

Since you're a beginner, it would be a good idea to focus on developing your strength. Stick to calisthenic exercises and drop the plyometrics. Incorporate squats and deadlifts in your strength work if you have access to weights.

I would do this

Day 1 - MMA

Day 2 - Squat; Calisthenics strength work (work on variations where you can pull off 5 reps for 4 sets with strict form)

Day 3 - MMA

Day 4 - 45 - 60 min light jog

Day 5 - MMA

Day 6 - Deadlift; Calisthenics strength work (work on variations where you can pull off 5 reps for 4 sets with strict form)

Day 7 - Off or 45 - 60 min light jog

Give this a try for 8 - 12 weeks.

If you can, stick to doing most of your martial arts training in the classes. That way your instructor can keep an eye on you and make sure you're not developing any bad habits.

Since you're a beginner, it would be a good idea to focus on developing your strength. Stick to calisthenic exercises and drop the plyometrics. Incorporate squats and deadlifts in your strength work if you have access to weights.

I would do this

Day 1 - MMA

Day 2 - Squat; Calisthenics strength work (work on variations where you can pull off 5 reps for 4 sets with strict form)

Day 3 - MMA

Day 4 - 45 - 60 min light jog

Day 5 - MMA

Day 6 - Deadlift; Calisthenics strength work (work on variations where you can pull off 5 reps for 4 sets with strict form)