Muay thai student transition to taekwondo

judokaboxer

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hi im studying muaythai and recently i stopped to study taekwondo (is cheaper than muay thai, not stoping MT entirely just adding arsenals) and have been doing it for some time. Ive been using muay thai shin blocks in our sparring which is effective. The question is is there guys out there that has similar transitions? how do you cope up with it? Do you need to unlearn stuff or just incorporate in with MT?

What style of TKD - WTF or ITF? Are you getting scolded for checking leg kicks? Do they use punches at all?

tae kwon do is a martial art system , you have to immerse yourself into the way they fight , take it slow and do things the way they want you to do them ,

it will definatley help your kicking , once you get the hang of tkd system , then incorporate your muay thai skills to complete your style ,,, its no different than me when i jumped into muay thai (kick boxing ) i train the way they ask me to , and now i am blending in my tkd experience and coming up with a style i can use effectively ,,, good luck , you will enjoy it

@hotora86 - im studying itf-taekwondo, im not scolded using shin blocks, in fact it is allowed and some black belts there use it too. the punches and just straights, no hooks and uppercuts. but i understand why, because if does it look like a kick boxing match.

@peanut66 - thanks, im getting a hang of it, its style is pretty fluid, lot of kicks and can seen coming and the foot work can be done switching to another stance from left to right. fancy kicks need speed and accuracy to pull off. that is exactly what im doing now hopefully someday i can fully incorporate muay thai and taekwondo in my arsenal. :)

the TKD will really really improve your MT targeting. While MT i found to generally traing stronger kicks, TKD generally trained more accurate kicking.