MT scoring video

Regel

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
I was trying to understand MT scoring and found lack of videos on that. So I made one myself.

What I did is I took Tony Myers' guidelines (MuayThai judging article USA.pdf) and a recent fight with what I thought was an non-trivial win by decision (Yodpanomrung vs Littewada 7.3.17). And then I graded every strike using Myers' A-D grading system (no grade = no score):

I, personally, love watching grades popping up from the strikes, and it's also quite educational (it was for me, at least).

So, I'm looking forward for your comments on grading and the video in general. In the first place, on grading cause I'm just a noob with a guideline. You thoughts about the Myers' guideline will also be interesting to hear.

A running tally or some visual indication of how each grade scores, like a meter being filled for each fighter, would make this perfect.

A running tally or some visual indication of how each grade scores, like a meter being filled for each fighter, would make this perfect.
True. First thing on to-do list.

The teeps seem a bit high on the scoring. Did Myers specifically say something about that?

The teeps seem a bit high on the scoring. Did Myers specifically say something about that?
Yeah. Doesn't gel with what I know about the scoring, but here it is:
If a teep lands anywhere on the body or leg and cause the boxer being teeped to fall to the floor it would be a ‘B+ grade’ score

If a teep lands anywhere on the body and cause the boxer being teeped to lose position, this would be a ‘B grade’ score

If a teep lands anywhere on the body but causes the boxer being teeped not to move, this would be a ‘D grade’ score

He grades them B like clear round kick, IF they cause an opponent to lose a position. I might have used the notion of "lose position" too loosely, treating any step back as such. Perhaps, only significant push backs should count.