MMA Training NYC / Renzo Gracie Academy

jabstraight968

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
Hey, whats up I'm new to sherdog so Im not sure if im putting this is in the correct forum. My apologies if this has been asked already.

Im looking to start MMA training after my shoulder heals up (4 more weeks of physical therapy) and was wondering which would be the best place. Im 21 (just turned 21 a week ago) reside in the Bronx, but I will travel anywhere in NYC. I boxed for around 2 years, was a blue belt in TKD in my younger days, and spent around 4 months at NY Combat Sambo, but because of the class schedule I cannot train there anymore.

My long term goal is to open up my own MMA school and create fighters/teach, as I love teaching and have a great appreciation for all the arts, not to be a UFC champion. But to teach, one must have experience so I definitely want to compete in BJJ/grappling tournaments, MMA fights, and some boxing matches. The school at the top of my list was Renzo Gracie Academy in Manhattan but that was until I found out about Renzo Gracie Fight Academy in Brooklyn. Its not an affiliate, but an expansion of the main academy , and also cheaper (big part of that is because its in Brooklyn where rent is much lower than Manhattan).