MarvelousMuayThai custom 16oz. triple-cuff lace-ups.

derrynakmuay

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
As this is my first review on Sherdog and to make sure that it doesn’t come across as a sponsored advertisement, I think that it might be worth taking a few sentences to explain a little about myself and the background to me ordering these gloves.

I’ve been training for over 20 years, starting with Muay Thai in the mid-90s and adding Kickboxing soon after. For a long time, I was fairly obsessive about training and competition but nowadays, I train for recreation only. I’ve used lots of gloves over that time, including budget brands and many from the top Thai manufacturers. While I’m quite happy to use just about anything as long as they’re basically fit-for-purpose, these are a bit different.

The MarvelousMuayThai custom 16oz. triple-cuff lace-ups are my first custom gloves and as such I wanted a pair that are as close to perfectly tailored to my personal preferences as is possible.

I’ll be quite upfront about the ordering of these. I didn’t get them for free; they aren’t a pair sent for me to review. They are the first non-prototype pair of custom gloves produced by a new company, MarvelousMuayThai, but made by an established supplier. After showing an interest in his new company, I was contacted by joeymarvelous and offered a very decent discount on a pair of custom gloves, dependent on two conditions:
  • They carry his logo
  • I write a "detailed and honest review"

Following some correspondence with joeymarvelous, I ordered these primarily on the basis of his patient attitude to my many questions and his confidence in his product.

As it’s a new company, I feel it’s important to include a little bit about the actual ordering process.