Judo's first competition at 31 years old.

patlafauche

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
Hi,
First sorry my english isn't my first language so sometimes maybe my sentence will be a little bit funny:p

I want to compete for the first time in december 2017. I've been doing judo 2x per week for 2 years. I'm a green belt. Pretty "solid" with the techniques but I have a lot of problem to apply them in randori.

On the ground there is no problem. But on my feet well... lol!

We are a small club, with very few contestants so it,s also a little bit hard to compete with people in my weight class.

I'm relatively fit (I've run a 85km race earlier this summer, Deadlift 400lbs, Squat 250lbs, Benchpress 215lbs) and I weight 180lbs (6feet 1). But I have a lot of trouble to put that strenght in my judo (I lack of power and speed). And by the way I have 31 years old. Conditionning isn't bad, I don't want to really focus on that right now.

So I want to prepare for this competition. I will do the class 2xweek and I think I can help myselft a lot at home. But I don't know where to start? Do you have some special youtube video/channel to recommend? I have found beyond grappling, he seems to know a lot so i think I can learn well from him. Do you have any advice or tip to "express" my strenght in judo?

For strenght training I have start a 5/3/1 template, pretty standard.

Last thing, since I've start I have broke 5 toes, do you think I should tape them each class to avoid that?

Thanks!

Your deadline to squat ratio is way off. That is your only problem. Start squatting heavier weight and you will be fine