I've hit a wall in my training. I need help

Snolla

Brown Belt
Professional Fighter
Reaction score
I weigh about 155-160lb, I've been training for 6 years, and am a blue belt. My cardio is very good, my hip escapes and awareness are good because I've been doing bjj for quite a while now regularly. My problem is everyone that comes to open mat outweight me by 40-70lb.

I don't know what it is or why my club is like this, but we are a giant factory. I can survive most rolls with them except a few of the purple belts and above who also outweight me by a huge margin. I know BJJ is the art of dealing with larger opponents, but when that opponent is much larger and also knows BJJ, it's giving me really rough open mat training sessions.

I have to spend my time surviving and getting crushed. My escapes are very good, my defense is now very good, I'm physically tough and able to deal with the claustrophobia that these massive dudes put me through, but I CANNOT attack.

If I isolate an arm, they power out of it. If I isolate the neck, they push through and take me down or sweep, if I isolate the ankle/heel they crush down on me etc...

I can barely wrap my legs around them for guard, and I have the most luck with the scissor sweep from guard. The problem is out of the 9-10 people that are regulars at open mat.... ALL OF THEM OUTWEIGH ME BY AT LEAST 30lb!

I need some tips or resources on how to deal with massive weight differences. Videos of smaller guys dealing with crushing pressure. I've tapped these big guys before, but the majority of the time I'm just trying to survive. Belly down armbars seem to work on some of them, or subs like that were I get a lot of leverage and they can't just power out.

Save me!
Reader-Question.png

I'm about the same weight you are and there's certainly unnormal distribution of bigger guys at our gym too. When grappling against such Goliaths, I always try to get to 5050-guard. I think that 5050 evens out the size and strength differences.