If you love martial arts, watch this Documentary!

Space Dog

Green Belt
@Green
Reaction score
A mini documentary about self taught Judoka Doug Rogers who after winning silver at the 1964 Tokyo olympics made a name for himself in Japan and got invited to train with legendary Judoka Masahiko Kimura. He remains the first and only foreigner taught by Kimura.

https://www.nfb.ca/film/judoka

I read a article about his training schedule and it would look something like this:
Masahiko Kimura’s Daily Training Regime (Kimura trained 6 days a week):
1,000 Push-ups or Hindu Push-ups
Bunny Hop- 1 km
Headstand- 3 x 3 Minutes (against a wall)
Judo Practice- 100 Throws
One-Arm Barbell Lift and Press- 15 Reps each side OR Bench Press- 3 Sets: 3, 2, and 1 Reps
200 Sit-ups off Partner’s Back or Decline Sit-ups
200 Squats with Partner/Log/Barbell/Sandbag (150-200lbs)
Judo Practice- 100 Drills Submissions
500 Shuto (Knife-hand Strikes)
Judo Practice- 100 Entries
Judo Randori- “X” x 3 Minute Rounds
Practice Throws (particularly Uchi-mata) Against a Tree- 1 Hour
Additional Judo Practice- 1 Hour

karate.gif

"A year a ago Marida could take me, Now that is not quite the case.
He's not getting any worse.. So i must be getting better.."

wish I had time to train like that! wonder what kind of solo drills I could do for BJJ that would help my game....

I remember watching this when I first started training. Every martial artist should watch this!!

Holy shit was that a good movie on all kinds of levels. WOW!

I watched twice. Amazing movie. Then, I got bummed out when I "googled" him later in life. It is sad to see someone once great let themselves go. In my mind, you are a martial artist for life. That means having the discipline to maintain your body at the best level it can be for life. I had a karate instructor once say (in broken English).

"Steven Seagal. He used to be good. He not good anymore. Japanese not like "used to be good" people."