How effective is shotokan?

CanadianLegKick

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
This is my first thread, so if theres already been one like this, sorry. Okay, well I have some wrestling experience, and im currently at orange belt in judo. My family is moving to some town with the only martial art being shotokan karate. Ive done another martial art for a bit (Dahn Moo Do) its kinda like hapkido. So, im wondering if its even worth it getting into shotokan?

thanks

My family is moving to some town with the only martial art being shotokan karate. So, im wondering if its even worth it getting into shotokan?

I'm in the same boat as you mate.

*First of all... What your goals are? Blackbelt? MMA training? Self defense?

1).- Hell Yeah! Shotokan is good for self defense and learning stand up fighting.
2).- If you have an Orange belt in Judo, probably you should continue with that too
3).- Take a sample class, or watch some videos about this style of Karate, and see if you like it.

P.s. If you practiced, or watched Taekwondo trainings, you might see similarities at the begining. I've taken both, but never got to the Blackbelt, i will get back there when i'm done with Muay Thai. Good luck!

Your question is wrong. Shotokan is a style, if Lebron James practiced Shotokan from the age of 5 he could destroy whole rooms of people like a Jet Li movie.

You should be asking about the instructor there, not the style. Would you learn Shotokan karate from the Machida's?? I would in a heartbeat.

It's as only as good as the person who is teaching it and the guy who's practicing it.

I assume the guy means effective in MMA, which I would like to know also, although have a feeling its not so effective from what I've read on here.

If you want to get into action moves however, Jean Claude Van Damme and Wesley Snipes both learned it and it seems awesome against hordes of useless hencemen as you work your way to the boss.