Bisping Comments on Chin Positioning

BJ@LW&WW

Gold Belt
@Gold
Reaction score

Striking noob here. Just curious what you all think. Is there a situation or a type of stance that makes tucking the chin undesirable? it seems to me even with a wide base karate type stance, there's no real reason not to tuck your chin right?

Inspired by another thread made about this video because of how harsh bisping was to karen :D

No. There are reasons fighters have difficulty keeping their chins down (and chests up, which is the main issue), but none of those reasons should be done on purpose.

Totally with Bisping on this one.

There's a whole culture around MMA that takes the idea of something not being a problem as long as it doesn't get you in trouble way too far. It's how MMA fans are constantly shocked when an "unbeatable" fighter like Silva gets knocked out by Weidman, or Rousey gets destroyed by Holm, or Cruz gets embarrassed by Garbrandt, or Barao gets dominated by TJ. Flaws are routinely ignored or even praised in fighters as long as they're winning, even if they struggle during some of those wins. Not tucking the chin is never under any circumstance advantageous. It's not a stylistic choice, it's a mistake. Just because a guy can get away with something doesn't make it a good idea.

I've noticed that a lot of guys from karate and tma backgrounds in general (which is a bit of a misnomer really since most of what are called tma's were innovated in the 20th century or later) tend to have a thing with not rolling with the punches.

And i don't mean being evasive, or even using head movement, but rather, that instinct for when you know you're getting hit, and flowing with it to reduce the impact.

It's something i suppose that can only come from many hours put in sparring.