Banging the Body Kicks - A Handy Dandy Guide

AndyMaBobs

Sherdog Retiree
@Brown
Reaction score
The clinch tutorial write up IS coming, but I'm really trying to think carefully about it before I type it up.

So in the mean time I thought I'd do another, briefer breakdown focussing solely on round kicks. If you haven't read the last HDG I did 'Winning Your Muay Thai Fight' then here's the link:
http://forums.sherdog.com/threads/winning-your-muay-thai-fight-a-handy-dandy-guide.3478787/

TODAY we're going to be going a bit more in depth on round kicks to the body, from both the lead and rear leg. We're not going to be talking about application, however, as that's a whole other kettle of fish... instead we're going to talk purely about the correct technique you should use to throw a body kick.

Rear Body Kick

I recently started training 1 to 1 with another muay thai coach, who I've known for years but only trained once with. He asked me what I wanted to focus on and I confessed that even though I've trained Muay Thai for nearly 5 years - I've never been remotely good at kicking.

I have a complex problem, part of it isn't my fault, the rest completely is. I had a medical condition as achild that left me spending a lot of time in a wheelchair, it affected my right hip and as a result my left leg has always been considerably stronger.

This meant I have had a strong right kick, as I stand on my left leg when throwing it, but my left kick has always been lacking. Being a southpaw, this was a bit of a problem for me - as my method to getting better at throwing a kick was simply "throw that kick more and you'll get good".

Unfortunately practice doesn't make perfect, it makes permanent. So we got hard at work fixing the technique and giving me a proper body kick.