Any Judokas with Scoliosis??

TheAxVictim

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
Hello. This is my first post here. I've loved martial arts since I can remember and want to start practicing Judo and/or Sambo this year. I know that Judo is especially hard on the back, so I was asking myself if there were any famous Judokas with scoliosis since I have it as well.

I'd also love to hear the personal experiences of sherdoggers with Scoliosis that have tried the sport. There's no need for medical advice, I know judo isn't the best choice and of course I'm going to visit a doctor before I start, just experiences if you will.

Funny that I had minor scoliosis that practically disappeared within last two years when I started training judo 3-5 times/week. My waistline gained about 4 inches from core muscles. I trained mostly BJJ for 3 years prior to that and did not observe changes like that. Judo is great for your back if you do not compete and stay away from idiots.

Funny that I had minor scoliosis that practically disappeared within last two years when I started training judo 3-5 times/week. My waistline gained about 4 inches from core muscles. I trained mostly BJJ for 3 years prior to that and did not observe changes like that. Judo is great for your back if you do not compete and stay away from idiots.

That's amazing. I didn't know that judo used so much core strength. Have you suffered any back injuries since you started training judo?

I have scoliosis that was just minor enough not to require intervention when I was growing up, but significant enough that every time I've visited a chiropractor their first reaction is "wtf why is your spine crooked?" I've done 12 years of Aikido (100,000+ breakfalls) and 9 years of BJJ with no related back problems.

My knees and hips, on the other hand...

Have you suffered any back injuries since you started training judo?