Z guard / Deep Half Q's

bagelgod

Green Belt
Reaction score
Dear [your name here],

Here's my conundrum. I'm usually a deep half guard kind of guy, and when that fails, I play the super traditional underhook half game. But there's a brown belt at my school that nullifies all of this by sprawling his nearside leg back, or pushing palm on my face is I get the underhook to keep me away. Additionally, he's the size of a small fire engine (very muscley), so I have an almost impossible time getting that underhook.

So, I did some cursory research, and found that z-guard and deep half are kinda/sorta complementary in an antithesis sort of way.

I won't lie, I'm a Z-guard noob. All I know is put my knee on top of his hip, cross that foot over my other foot, and use that to pry his dreamy muscley body off of me. From there I was working on a very futile Kimura; one time, when he backed up a little too much, I got full guard again, and another I failed a triangle attempt after pulling that leg out. The fourth time I tried Z guard he apparrently tired of my shenanigans and he sprawled out, hugged my legs, and crawled up me.

My question is, what the hell do you do from Z guard? Sweeps? A super, super long time ago, a purple belt showed me how to transition to a crazy over the back arm bar from the z guard kimura, but I forgot it like an idiot. What do you guys suggest for this position in terms of instructional material? I thought my two half guard games would last me forever, so I'm pretty stupid on this.

Failing that, what do you deep halfers do when someone is very adament about sprawling their leg back, and face palming you if you get too close to deep half?

Forever yours,
[my name here]

Truth be told, I use Z guard mainly to keep stronger/heavier guys off of me. I keep the knee shallow on the hip, so my legs don't get pinned together.