Yup! Another one of those first tourney threads...

lakergirl52

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
So I had my tournament this weekend. I've been training Gi for about 2 months now at GRBJJ with wrestleben and dexter. I've always wanted to compete and thought this would be a good way to get my feet wet before doing a bigger tournament that I want to do next year. I entered into the Women's White belt Light Heavy division. They decided to throw five of us together and call it the women's middleweight division.

The strategy that I had been working was to shoot for a takedown from the clinch, go for the single, and work to get side control if I didn't land there. I honestly didn't have much else planned.

Any advice will be great. I know I got a lot to work. Just trying to figure out the order to work on things.

First Match: She pretty much manhandled me. Not gonna lie. At first I tried to tie up with her but then she pulled guard and ended up going for the armbar. Thats when the video started. I'm in the White Gi. Look like a fish out of water. PS. When the video first starts, we're on the other side of the mat. The comments you hear aren't directed to me. Lost to an Ezekial. (Sp?)