Your MMA Like - o - Meter over the years

NHB7

Steel Belt
@Steel
Reaction score
Where has your like - o - meter for MMA fallen over the yeras from 0 (not at all interested) – 10 (the most interested I’ve ever been)

In the early 90s: 4

It was novel. I didn’t like it enough to actively seek it out, but when I saw it while perusing Hollywood video it was always my first rental choice. Royce was definitely my favorite.

In the Mid 90’s: 2 – 3

After Royce left, I wasn’t as interested. But guys like Remco Pardoel and Oleg Taktarov kept me mildly intrigued.

Late 90’s: 6

I started training in Martial arts (BJJ, Kickboxing). Frank Shamrock was definitely my favorite. And I had my first hated heel: Tito Ortiz.

Early 2000’s: 8 – 9

I saw my first highlight video of Kazushi Sakuraba, discovered there was a whole
other MMA org worth watching, and found Sherdog. I started to become infatuated. Sakuraba was my favorite.

Mid 2000’s: 10

The Pride FC HW division was one of the best divisions in the history of the sport (to this day). Fedor was the Emperor. They were doing HW tournies and OWGP’s. It was spectacular. I was a rabid dog of a fan. I started like MMA to an unhealthy degree. It was almost all I could think about. I would never miss an event. Plus for the first time in the history of the sport, the new reality show TUF, was bringing me a dose of MMA on a weekly basis. Fedor was my favorite.

Late 2000’s: 8 – 9

Pride collapsed and I was crest fallen. But I was still highly interested especially because the very thing we debated most here on Sherdog (which organization had the better stable of fighters) was about to finally be put to the test. There was heartbreak and there was elation. It was pretty exciting. Fedor was still my favorite.

Early 2010’s: 7