You ever know anyone who lives the 4 Hour Work Week lifestyle? Like, travels world & works remotely?

sakfjgadsyukgf

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I've been strongly considering doing this..... I live in a big city now but am single with no kids, can do my job remotely, and have no particular responsibilities or ties that would keep me from doing so. I'd be open to traveling to Europe, South America (Buenos Aires is supposed to be great), Southeast Asia, Australia etc. Only real downsides I can see are:

Time zones (I'd have to be awake some pretty odd times as I'd be working remotely and still have to be responsive to e-mails, calls etc. This wouldn't be the case in South America, but I'd be like a vampire in Asia- up all night and sleeping during the day)
Housing when I return home (I suppose I could buy a condo here in the US just so I have a home base and place to store furniture, but it'd be a hassle, my credit's not amazing, and I'm an independent contractor- bad for getting a mortgage. Wouldn't make sense to rent an apartment and then be gone half the time- but then when I returned home I'd have to rent one from scratch)

Any Sherbros ever live the Tim Ferriss lifestyle? Or, know someone who has and has tips?

EDIT: OK, I can see the title of Ferriss' book is misleading. The point of the book (and my post) is traveling around the world and working remotely- not just working 4 hours a week, which seems unlikely unless you're already loaded. My question was, is anyone else traveling the world.....

Last edited:
I quit working in my 30s. I started a business and worked just a few hours a week but it didn't really make a lot of money with it because - not surprisingly - doing any kind of new business takes 100% dedication. I spent at least 5 hrs a week managing my investments.

4 hr work week and making money just doesn't seem achievable but then again i have no idea who Tim Ferris is.