Yesterday did my first ever bjj Session in a real bjj gym.

Frode Falch

Steel Belt
Professional Fighter
Reaction score
So i kinda have wanted to do it for 10 years or so. And i finaly got to join a bjj beginner class at bodø jiu jitsu.

We went into the class with a open mind and a very humble beginner attitude. Because that is what we are. I had a friend with me. He is a karate black belt with no bjj or judo experience.

But yeah.. it was super fun! Very cool to get the feeling of being brand new at a martial art again.

And all the guys there was super nice and friendly to get two total beginners to visit.

So yeah. The gym is just less then two hours drive from here. So i have just ordered my first ever gi online.

<GinJuice>

Nice man, enjoy the journey.

Last edited:
It can be super frustrating at first but stick with it.

IMO BJJ more so than striking is like a roller coster of a ride. Some days you feel awesome and some days you think you are getting worse. Overall though you will get better but the ride is filled with ups and downs. Just got to grind it out and embrace it.

Best advice I can give is get comfortable being uncomfortable.

Being a beginner at BJJ was so much fun because of how often catastrophic failures happened. I just remember (pathetically) trying an armbar from mount and how poorly it went.

Last edited:
Its so many steps to remember. And to even think about getting it to work in live rolling.. I got a loooong way to go. And i love it.

Only "bad" thing is that my left pinky hurts like hell. And i have no idea why.

I submitted a black belt and after that the dude stop being nice to me so i stop practicing BJJ.

am still a white belt but is not my fault that I obsessed for 3 months watching Eddie bravo tutorials.

Congrats on finding something that's about to take over your life. General advice: avoid getting a BJJ tattoo until at least purple belt.