1. We now have a new forum called Fantasy Matchup Discussion. Access it here

Wrestling after college

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by Pilgrim35, Jul 11, 2010.

1. Pilgrim35

Pilgrim35 Blue Belt

I never wrestled in high school or college. I graduated from college in May of 2009, but am thinking of trying to take up wrestling now. Is there anyway for people to learn wrestling outside of school? Do places like the YMCA offer high-quality wrestling lessons for adults?

2. FLGrappler21

FLGrappler21 White Belt

You can start by looking for a club on usa wrestling, most clubs allow adults to train too. If you don't find any clubs, you can also go to a local high school and see if the coach will let you practice with them.

3. Mike Wilson Jr.

Mike Wilson Jr. Amateur Fighter

*walks into high school wrestling room*

"Hi there coach! Ive never wrestled a day in my life before, and i was wondering if it would be ok if i rolled around with these kids during your practice? I swear im not on megans list."

:wink:

4. afrdzak

afrdzak Brown Belt

A lot of BJJ schools will have a class that is strictly designed for take downs...both gi and no gi...like one day a week.

Also, many students at BJJ schools and some instructors are former wrestlers. Outside of class time, you can enlist them to help you during open mat sessions.

So you could learn BJJ and wrestling simultaneously.

Finding an adult wrestling club is probably going to be pretty tough.

5. Gorgenflex

Gorgenflex White Belt

Some MMA gyms have wrestling for MMA which is just takedowns and not actually the sport. If you're not currently doing a grappling art you will learn a lot of wrestling takedowns just doing some sort of grappling.

6. knoxpk

knoxpk Black Belt

If you are hell bent on learning just wrestling or focusing on it for a little bit most USA wrestling clubs I have seen allow adults. Hell, Iv'e seen guys in their 60's rolling sometimes.

7. Brian McLaughlin