Wrestler needs striking

felix748

White Belt
Reaction score
I've been wrestling collegiate and freestyle full-time for 4 years now and now I've decided to start practicing Mixed Martial Arts. I don't really have any striking technique and was wondering which striking system I should focus on.

Muay Thai + Boxing.

If you can only afford one, then do Muay Thai so you're more well rounded in an MMA fight.

I agree with Muay Thai. Most good Muay Thai classes will include lots of pure boxing techniques.

Do boxing. You're a wrestler and you don't want to get taken down so do boxing.

I've been hearing muay thai is the way to go from others too but I just wanted to see what people here thought. I've been watching muay thai videos and I see a lot of boxing involved in it as well so it seems like I could get some boxing out of MT as well

I've been hearing muay thai is the way to go from others too but I just wanted to see what people here thought. I've been watching muay thai videos and I see a lot of boxing involved in it as well so it seems like I could get some boxing out of MT as well

Exactly.
In a MMA fight you need to be versatile in order to be successfull.
Kicks, knees, elbows, the thai clinch are all things that boxing simply doesn't have.

Boxing is great but it's too 1 dimensional in an MMA fight.

I've been wrestling collegiate and freestyle full-time for 4 years now and now I've decided to start practicing Mixed Martial Arts. I don't really have any striking technique and was wondering which striking system I should focus on.