Working off being sprawled on

YuHin

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
Lets say you are going for a double leg or single leg, and you get fully sprawled on. As an amateur, I seem to always want to pursue the take down by holding the legs, which I cannot pull the leg in enough to complete the take down, and cannot find myself to standing back up as it risks landing in a more disadvantageous position or getting submitted.

any words of advice? techniques or strategies?
please and thank you
-YuHin

I once broke my finger trying to double leg a guy. Since then I've been a bit shook up :(

Stand up and clinch or seperate, you have a better chance on your feet than you would under your opponent like that. It doesnt take much for a experienced wrestler to take your back from a sprawl, and thats not a good position. As you come up throw some body shots, make sure if you seperate to throw some strikes.

Remember to practice your shooting, its way overlooked. Don't just shoot out of the blue also, try throwing a combo, then come back in with your shot and faux jab, they'll be looking for the jab, hands high, legs vulnerable :icon_chee

thank you very much! however, i was wondering if these would be able to be applied, or if there were other words of advice if the opposition were to push your head towards his middle and has his hips down to the mat in an absolute full sprawl.

If ever he is fully sprawled and you're fully extended. Pick a side and, clockwise or counter, rotate your hips and legs and find an angle so that you are now driving him to the side instead of trying to drive him straight back over his base/sprawl. I don't know if that makes any sense...I need a picture...from either direction just get your legs closer to his so that you can cut a better angle or hook his leg with yours and continue improving your position.

instead of holding on behind the knee, reach further and grab an ankle. turn the corner and step over it.

or

hook an elbow and sit out, HARD