working class bjj guys!

thedoc56**

Blue Belt
Reaction score
any advice or tips from anyone who works a alot and still has time for bjj? how do u avoid being dead/injured/sore everyday from bjj class?

Unless your really fortunate most guys on here either work or study and have to fit in their training around it.

I work full time in finance and the things which have helped me are:

1. Routine. If its possible have set days when you train and try not to deviate from this. The reality is that you will be tired, sore, distracted but if if you make mondays and wednesdays the days you always train for example, its harder to make excuses to miss it.

2. Sleep. This is the biggest problem for me as I work long hours and train late with an early start. Sometimes I feel like a zombie, if you can get a good 8 hours then great. If not, man up and make sure you catch up your sleep on weekends etc...

3. Diet. Stay away from simple carbs and sugary foods. The worst thing is your blood sugar levels going up and down on top of 6 hours sleep and then more training in the evening...

4. Supplement. A good athlete specific multi vit is essential. Other supps such as Gaba and ZMA might improve the quaility of your sleep.

Hope this helps...

Protein shake immediately after rolling. Force down a healthy meal soon after even if you're not hungry. Get a good night of sleep afterwords.

Take your vitamins - calcium, fish oil, glucosamine, and multi.

Shower ASAP after leaving the gym to get the sweat, gym nastiness, bacteria off you.

Unless your really fortunate most guys on here either work or study and have to fit in their training around it.

1. Routine. If its possible have set days when you train and try not to deviate from this. The reality is that you will be tired, sore, distracted but if if you make mondays and wednesdays the days you always train for example, its harder to make excuses to miss it.