Winning MS-600-B: Thumb Problems

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment Discussion' started by Longshot92, Aug 10, 2015.

1. Longshot92

Longshot92 White Belt

On the advice of many here and elsewhere on the interwebs, I decided it was time to up my hand protection game and splurge on the best that money can buy.

As advertised, quality of workmanship was astounding, fit and finish top notch, but... every time I hit the heavy bag with a cross, I jam my thumb, to the point that the gloves are barely usable. What is going on??

I've read that if your thumb hurts, you're punching wrong, but I've been boxing for five years in half a dozen different brands of gloves, and I've NEVER had thumb problems before. Is there something different about the thumb placement on Winnings? Has anyone else ever had this problem before? I did not research thumb placement of different brands before buying because it never occurred to me that this was a difference-maker. Am I the only person on the planet who doesn't like his Winnings?? I feel like I'm taking crazy pills.

2. Jaime81

Jaime81 Green Belt

I hadn't heard anyone complaining about the thumb but I think Cheap Shot didn't like his winnings because the pocket and his hand didn't line up. Maybe this is one of those situations.

If you do get rid of them, let me know.

3. StRatoCastR

StRatoCastR Gear Tester/Reviewer

Wow either you have an extremely long thumb or the thumb compartment on your winnings is smaller than usual. It sucks either way, because your winnings from what i understand are unusable at this point. I must say you have been the first case that has had an issue with a winning thumb.

If thats the case stay away from all mexican brand gloves.

Curious have u tried the ring to cage c17 and if so did u have an issue with the thumb?

4. Longshot92

Longshot92 White Belt