Why would anyone wear anything but a light gi?

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by RuDOWN4It, Feb 25, 2016.

1. RuDOWN4It

RuDOWN4It Brown Belt

I started training BJJ about 8 years ago wearing some heavier gis, including a HCK that was probably over 5 pounds. When it got sweaty after a few rolls, it weighed considerably more. Now that I've had a few years of experience under my belt, I am gradually switching to all light weight gis. Right now, most of my gis are around 2 pounds.

I understand the gi is a personal choice. But generally, everyone will want the least restrictive gi. Basketball and football players want lighter shoes and cleats so they can run faster and jump higher. Professional cyclists want their bikes as light as possible so they can ride faster and longer. And the list goes on and on... Similarly, If I'm rolling or competing, I want skill to be the determining factor, not whether someone was too tired half way into the tournament because he was wearing a 5 pound gi. In training, I can get longer and better quality training if I'm wearing a light gi, since I'm not completely drained after a few rounds of hard rolling.

So that brings to my question, why do people prefer these heavier gis? Do they last longer? I roll pretty hard and I've never even come close to ripping a gi. And even if I did rip one, I wouldn't hesitate to spend $150 on a gi that'll last me years.

Do they feel better? I've had double weaves, gold weaves, rip stop, etc. I haven't found any one of them to be vastly superior to another.

So what is it? Why do you willingly carry extra weight when you roll?

Last edited: Feb 26, 2016
  2. Thrawn33

Thrawn33 JUST BLEED Belt

Because I'm not a bitch?

Rod1, Badger67, Dogstarman and 5 others like this.
  3. RuDOWN4It

RuDOWN4It Brown Belt

You are such a tough bad ass. I wish I was more like you.

vodkaBearSnow and biscuitsbrah like this.
  4. berimBOWLoh

berimBOWLoh Silver Belt