Why judo/bjj/wrestling/grappling initially?

Q mystic

Silver Belt
Reaction score
what were your reasons for entering (initially)?

You CAN choose more than 1.

It is NOT a public poll.

I love fighting, tried some pankration, have had the bug ever since, just started training BJJ, and I love it.

I was over 200 pounds and didn't want to get diabetes and die by 30.

I picked the top two, fitness and fighting.

Needed to get back in shape and I love personal combat sports.

It looked like fun, I used to memorize King's moves in Tekken 2 and try them on people way before I started training.

And I loved wrestling when I was a kid, trying to take down and control my friends who were bigger than me.

Self defense! Get a gun or train in kali, which is all about street fighting if you want self-defense.

yeah Bjj/Judo/Wrestling/Sambo makes me tough and strong, but not stonrg enough against a bullet or perhaps a knife.:icon_twis

I was over 200 pounds and didn't want to get diabetes and die by 30.

Smart man. Working as an EMT i saw everyday what smoking and fat does to your body. People don't realize how hard it is on you.

I started grappling because a friend did judo and showed me some moves. It was interesting. I went to the Nissei (sp?) games with him in LA and was intrigued enough to want to sign up.

Self defense! Get a gun or train in kali, which is all about street fighting if you want self-defense.

I have long thought self defense is a myth. Pepper spray, gun, taser > Fist, feet, hips...and cheaper, but not as fun

I would not say that self defense is a myth. I am training in BJJ for military and personal reasons. For military, we train with a rifle and pistol as our primary and secondary weapons, expandable baton and OC (pepper) spray as non lethal means, but the hands on training is extremely important as well. It all helps you to be a more well rounded fighter and less dependant on one tool.