Why is mission control not utilised more often in MMA?

senyster

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
I am a BJJ newb, with my (lack of) knowledge pretty much based on years of watching MMA and the occasional no-gi contest.

That being said, could anyone explain why the rubber guard, more specifically mission control, isn't used more often in MMA? When we actually do get to see it, it seems pretty effective at nullifying offense while also making attacking possible.

EDIT: Might it be that it is simply not as useful, or is it instead that it's just not very widespread?

In my humble opinion it's because it's not a great idea. If you're on the bottom in MMA with short 5 minute rounds, you are losing if you don't get a submission. Getting a submission from the bottom is hard. In 2016 besides the rear naked choke and the guillotine there have only been a few darce chokes, a few arm triangles, a couple of armbars and a couple of triangles. That's it. Most of these were set up from the top also. From closed guard, rubber guard, butterfly guard, you name it I can only think of a handful of subs in the past few years. Establishing rubber guard isn't even that easy on someone that's sweating, and people's sub and sweep defense from the top in 2016 is excellent. The omoplata sweep is the main sweep from there. Again, it's not easy to set that up.

There has been 1 omoplata submission ever in the UFC and it wasn't until a couple of years ago and it actually was from the rubber guard. And Eddie Bravo was cornering the guy.