Whose first loss is more legit--Fedor or Jones?

Discussion in 'UFC Discussion' started by Pitier of Fools, Jan 3, 2015.

  1. DeathByBeer

    DeathByBeer Red Belt

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,568
    Likes Received:
    1,767
    Location:
    Manitoba
    Neither loss takes anything away from either fighter.

    So the point is moot.
     
  2. RedRackham

    RedRackham Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2,320
    Likes Received:
    3
    Jones first loss? You mean his only loss?

    Fedor has like 3 or 4 more now, all by stoppage.
     
  3. Xuh

    Xuh Red Belt

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    8,097
    Likes Received:
    11,543
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    Fedor's first loss was more legit, Arona clearly beat him under any ruleset :wink:
     
  4. dc007

    dc007 mr. white belt

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    25,531
    Likes Received:
    9,102
    Location:
    NYC
    Neither.
     
  5. MiroHa

    MiroHa Red Belt

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    8,370
    Likes Received:
    5,085
    Location:
    A place where cowards live
    I'm not sure if most organisations allowed elbows to the head back then. In Japan pretty much none did and it was the Mecca of MMA.
     
  6. RedRackham

    RedRackham Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2,320
    Likes Received:
    3
    I still say that had to of been rigged somehow. Watched it many times now, can never get over it. I was never much for Arona, but getting that win he deserved could of helped him for sure.
     
  7. Bones245n4847

    Bones245n4847 Red Belt

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    8,574
    Likes Received:
    2,285
    Location:
    Jon Jones nutsack
    Fedor, doctor stoppage vs a fight Jones was eviscerating his opponent to the point where they DQ'ed him.
     
  8. RedRackham

    RedRackham Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2,320
    Likes Received:
    3
    When did the ufc ever NOT allow elbows to the non-back of the head? If you look up the rules back then you might find they even allowed them to the back of the head. Maybe it was earlier that the back of the head rule was taken out, but as they started in the mid 90's to late it was there.

    Thanks John McCain! :D
     
  9. griek1

    griek1 Orange Belt

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    4
    I don't get what's not legit about the Jones loss. He clearly broke the rules and the rules in this instance were clear about the consequences. Yes, the rules are stupid and yes he would have won, but that doesn't make the loss less legit.

    It's like a basketball player or a tennis player stepping over the line. The free throw or the ace won't get awarded. It doesn't matter if the free throw or ace would still have been made if you hadn't broken the rules.

    It doesn't take anything away from his talent, though.
     
  10. Truebeliever

    Truebeliever Brown Belt

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,501
    Likes Received:
    8
    Neither is really legit but Fedor was the one with his face busted up, ill put it that way.
     
  11. estranged

    estranged Brown Belt

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,787
    Likes Received:
    5,941
    yup
     
  12. ticho123

    ticho123 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,480
    Likes Received:
    1,313
    Location:
    Northern Europe
    It's NOT as clear as a tennis player stepping over the line. The 12-6 elbows rule is pretty cloudy tbh. It's more comparable to a faulty throw-in in football or something like that.
     
  13. FarCry

    FarCry Quantum Fluctuation

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    11,520
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    In a Blackhole.
    Fedors cause he was the one being hurt. Jones was on the offense.
     
  14. Emang8

    Emang8 Green Belt

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    646
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Jones loss was an actual loss, a result of him choosing to use an illegal tactic (something he is well familiar with). Fedors loss was due to somebody using an illegal move on him and does not result in an actual loss.
     
  15. lelouch

    lelouch Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,467
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Stormrage
    Bones->Fedor
     
  16. Emang8

    Emang8 Green Belt

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    646
    Location:
    Northern VA
    No, no. The rule is perfectly clear, no 12-6 elbows allowed.
     
  17. ticho123

    ticho123 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,480
    Likes Received:
    1,313
    Location:
    Northern Europe
    Except when they are. And back of the head strikes arent allowed either. Except when they are. There are no rule in MMA that's enforced nearly as consistently as stepping over the line in tennis or grabbing the ball with your hands in football. In fact, most times when a fighter finishes with back of the head strikes, he is awarded the victory. Most fence grabs infamously slips as well with nothing but a verbal warning. Did Jones even get warned by the way? Now I'm not saying he didn't break the rules, I was just calling out a hyperbolic comparison regarding a situation where fighters are free'd as often (or maybe even more often) then they are fouled.
     
  18. memoriesofrem

    memoriesofrem Brown Belt

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,731
    Likes Received:
    10
    You really can't compare the two, completely different circumstances.
     
  19. MGLucas

    MGLucas Brown Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Running against the wind
    There's no denying he used an illegal strike(s). The question is the effect of those strikes. After the illegal strike the fight should have been paused, Jones should've been warned and possibly had a point taken away, and Hamill should've been given time to recover before resuming the fight. Unfortunately for Jones, the incompetent referee didn't stop the fight much earlier when it should've been stopped and Hamill was already too fucked up from earlier punishment to continue. The illegal elbows were not the cause of Hamill's inability to continue.

    It would be like Bisping being declared the winner over Hendo if Hendo inadvertently kneed Bisping in the groin while diving in for that final shot after Bisping was already unconscious.
     
  20. IIIIIIII

    IIIIIIII Titanium Belt

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    38,404
    Likes Received:
    11,775
    exactly. anyone who compares those, "losses" to the more traditional way in which fighters lose, are insane beyond belief.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.