Which Thai Pads?

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment Discussion' started by Cous Cous Lad, Oct 5, 2010.

1. Hi Guys,

I'm looking to invest in a set of thai pads so I can do some extra work outside of classes. I'm pretty new to Muay Thai so i really need to get a few more hours of practice in than the 2 hours a week I get down at the gym.

I've narrowed it down to 3 brands:

The curved Fairtex pads ( Fairtex Thai Kick Pads Standard - Thai Pads - Focus Mitts & Thai Pads MMA clothing, MMA Equipment )

The Twins velcro pads ( Thai Kick Pads, Twins Kick Pads MMA clothing, MMA Equipment )

or

These MTG pads ( MTG mtkp002 Leather Thai Kick Pads MMA clothing, MMA Equipment )

Has anyone had any experience using any of these pads? What are you thoughts?

The MTGs are about

2. Bashir Ahmad Orange Belt

I dont have any experience with the MTG.
    I have a pair of twins. They are two years old and look and feel freakin brand new.
    Fairtex makes good stuff and I like the curved pad approach. But I would say generally speaking the Fairtex and the Twins are the same.
    If you were gonna get just one pair. I would go with Boon. Amazing stuff.

3. Mark Limbaga Amateur Fighter

I'd go with the extra thick thai pads if Fairtex and the medium or large Twins thai pads...

4. Ryukyu Damashi Ryukyu Damashi

I used MMApak's large Twins day for a year and a half and they are still new. I currently use a pair of medium Twins and love them.

5. Stifton White Belt

We have them all were i train so i can tell you the differance.

The fairtex ones are better if your going to be punching aswell as kicking. They have a sweet spot in the middle to aim for.

The twins ones are really solid and will last for ever. They help alot with shin conditioning as the padding is the firmest off the lot.

The mtg ones that we have are their small ones. They are decent quality but wont last as long as the other two. The pad holder can feel something through them(that might be due to our being thinner) .