where to punch

Discussion in 'Standup Technique' started by justkidin, Oct 11, 2010.

1. justkidin

justkidin White Belt

I have what may be a very dumb question, however I cannot find any information on the subject. I am a wrestler by trade and have recently been dabbling in MMA(surprise right?) Now I approached this task with a "fu*k it, I'll give it a shot" mentality, and have paid for it. I am currently 1-2. But I was able to find out that I love doing it. I am going to be joining a gym in the next couple of weeks, but what I really want to know is where do you aim your punches? I know its dumb but I have never trained ANY standup. I was really good at timing and accuracy, but I didn't really know where to aim, So I aimed for the nose every time. I did make contact with most all of my punches, but I wish to know where my punches will do the most damage. Should I aim for the chin every time, or are their different targets for different punches. I googled it and looked on youtube, but all I found out was where to punch a shark. If you guys have good videos I would greatly appiciate it. Thank you.

2. Lionidas

Lionidas Brown Belt

First thing my boxing coach taught me....punch when you see an opening.
    Never hesitate.

If you see a shot to his chin, jab him.
    If you see a shot to his temple, throw a hook.
    If you see a shot to his stomach, throw an uppercut.
    If you see a shot to his liver, throw a body hook.

Point is....punch whatever is unprotected.

3. ssullivan80

ssullivan80 see....what had happened was

The ideal way to "aim a shot" is at where the opponent is going, not where they are at. Without getting into a really long post (which would be easy to write pages on this subject) here are some good general rules of thumb.