when to take whey

Pure Evil

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
When do you take ur post-workout whey...immediately after ur workout or maybe an hour or so after (after ingesting some carbs first)?

Most of what I've read suggests you take it right after working out, but i've been talking to some nutritionists who have said that you need carbs first or the protein is used up very quickly and wasted.

anybody know what makes more sense?

"protein is used up very quickly and wasted."

Neocon nutritionists, ugh.

An hour is too long, I take it immediately, or sometimes wait 10 minutes.

Take it immediately WITH carbs, like dextrose or maltodextrin. I think a 2:1 carbs to protein ratio is recommended for post workout.

Take it immediately WITH carbs, like dextrose or maltodextrin. I think a 2:1 carbs to protein ratio is recommended for post workout.

What this guy said.

I've been doing that for over three months now and it REALLY helps with muscle soreness.

If you're drinking the protein in a smoothie along with fruit/fruit juice/yogurt/whatever, would the carbs in the smoothie count, as they're being ingested WITH the protein?

I take it exactly 7 minutes and 54 seconds after I finish training.

No more, no less

"protein is used up very quickly and wasted."

Neocon nutritionists, ugh.

An hour is too long, I take it immediately, or sometimes wait 10 minutes.

Yes..if it is Whey Protein.

Casein Protein however is used up at a much slower rate and is best consumed before bedtime.

If you want optimum results, they recommend using both Casein and Whey.

Yes..if it is Whey Protein.

Casein Protein however is used up at a much slower rate and is best consumed before bedtime.

If you want optimum results, they recommend using both Casein and Whey.

Milk protein Concentrate has both (usually 1/3 whey, 2/3 casein, but it depends on the blend)

Exactly. Those carbs create a spike in insulin which helps the uptake of protein!