whats up with white/blue belts

chilldude

White Belt
Reaction score
I have been practicing Bjj for about a year, a couple of months ago I got permoted to white/blue belt (A blue belt devided in the center with a white stripe). It has become apparent to me that most schools promote from white to blue, then purple ect.. not white to white/blue to blue then,purple ect... Any body have any input?

Are you sure it's BJJ and not traditional JJ? Also are you a child by any chance?

I've seen white belts with the blue stripe in the center. Also seen adult green belts used for the same function. Not sure how that works in gi tournaments.

Are you sure it's BJJ and not traditional JJ? Also are you a child by any chance?

don't know if you're just being a smartass.

The truth is, from what I've heard, these are becoming more and more popular (although still quite rare). The idea is that you promote to the "blue and white" rather than using stripes. Schools like them because they can charge for the belts and, for whatever it's worth, students feel more motivated b/c they get a "new" belt, not just a stripe.

Sad to say that anything that makes the schools money is likely to stick.

I think Ricardo Almeida does such system for aduts in his academy.

don't know if you're just being a smartass.

The truth is, from what I've heard, these are becoming more and more popular (although still quite rare). The idea is that you promote to the "blue and white" rather than using stripes. Schools like them because they can charge for the belts and, for whatever it's worth, students feel more motivated b/c they get a "new" belt, not just a stripe.

Sad to say that anything that makes the schools money is likely to stick.