What's the least punishing cardio on your body/knees?

greenarrow

White Belt
Reaction score
I train judo 3x a week, and 2 days a week I lift weights following Rippetoe's SS program. So essentially I'm doing some sort of backwork/legwork every day for 5 days straight. I was just wondering what type of cardio is the least punishing - especially on your knees?

Swimming. But stick to freestyle or backstroke. Your knees will actually 'slide' and have pressure on them from strokes like butterfly and breast-stroke.

rowing machines, ellipticals, swimming, running on grass, etc.

been doing barbell/dumbbell complexes lately and they seem pretty easy on the knees

I'm no expert, but I would go with swimming. Maybe I should start doing that since running has been death on my knees.

swimming is a good way to go. if you want to something with adjustable resistance for HIIT then try versa climbers or rowing machines.

I train judo 3x a week, and 2 days a week I lift weights following Rippetoe's SS program. So essentially I'm doing some sort of backwork/legwork every day for 5 days straight. I was just wondering what type of cardio is the least punishing - especially on your knees?

You train Judo 3 times per week, you lift weights twice per week. Extra training on top of this would wear you down. Besides, I would think that Judo itself gives you all the cardio fitness you require. Pick out a decent Judo fighter in your club at randori time. Wrestle hard with him for 5 mins straight. Stop and rest for 1 min. Then wrestle hard again for 5 mins. Aim for takedowns, submissions, just keep driving untill the other guy gives up. Now do a few rounds of that and then tell me how you feel.

most definitely wheelchairing

I was going to say:

disabled_ski2_428x269_to_468x312.jpg

If you are worried about stress on your joints than it's a stationary bike. Just make sure the seat is adjusted correctly or it will do more damage than good.