What would you do

flikerstance

floridaman
Banned
Reaction score
Hi im having my first submission grappling match this saturday. Im 16 and ive been training for about 8 months, and last week i jammed my thumb pretty bad. I dont want to risk hurting it more, but i really want to compete. What would you do?

Tape it up and go for it. Take some ibuprofen before and after and ice it afterwards. And don't whine about it.

Just about every sport I did in high school, I was injured and it prepared me for MMA and BJJ. No one is 100% that trains religiously.

I'm not a fighter. I work in an office and manage people, but love combat sports and training.

Good luck guy! Let us know how you did.

Training and competing with injuries are all part of the game.

Go for it.

Check out Jean Jacques Machado. The guy only has a thumb and pinky on one hand is is and ADCC champ

<object width="425" height="355"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/DuLe9ObQm1g&hl=en"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/DuLe9ObQm1g&hl=en" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="355"></embed></object>

Rio De Janeiro Jiu-Jitsu State Championships Cruiser Weight Champion 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987,1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992

Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu National Championships Cruiser Weight Champion 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987,1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992

Sambo Wrestling Championships National and Pan American Cruiser Weight Champion 1993 Oklahoma - 1st Place 1994 San Diego, CA - 1st Place

Grappling Style Challenge Japan 1995 - Champion

Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu American Championships 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998

Black Belt Super Challenge Championships 1998 - Champion

Abu Dhabi Submission Wrestling World Championships 1999 - Champion - 66k-76k Division 1st Place Most Technical Fighter Award

Abu Dhabi Submission Wrestling World Championships 2000 - 66k-76k Division Silver Medalist