What to eat with same day weigh in? Only 2-3 hours to refuel.

slow89

White Belt
Reaction score
Ok so thought the weigh ins were the day before.... Just found out its the same day weigh. Weigh ins are at 5:30pm and ill probably be fighting around 7:30. Not worried about making weight but have no clue what to eat now.... Ive read alot of the threads on what to eat post weigh ins but havent found one were they only had 2 hours to refuel. Im cutting from 170ish to 147.... Im currently at 157 and dropping fast due to taking only about 20 grams of carbs a day. This is my first ammy so any help would be appreicated.

Pedialyte.

But I have no experience with this sort of thing.

Thanks alot guys.... Any other input would be great.

ok so ive searched and searched but cant find how many bottles of pedialyte i should drink. So 1 bottle 2 bottles, how much?

Rehydrate til your urin tells you that you are ok. Foods that digest quickly and easily, fruits mainly.

Having had at least 300 same day weigh ins in my life, I can tell you eating anything more than a few powerbars is going to be a recipe for disaster. I learned the hard way when I first started wrestling. I always had 1 to 1.5 pedialytes and 1-2 powerbars for a 1 hour weigh in. Even with night before weigh ins for wrestling or fights, I still will not take in more than listed above within 2-3 hours before a fight or match/tourny.

INteresting thread .

Not to hijack this thread but I was wondering how much pounds you can cut off , and then rehydrate without it affecting your performance too much for a same day weigh in ?

Given the athlete is , let's say 200 lbs for easier math purposes ..?

Has anyone here an idea ...???

each person is different. the most important thing isnt total pounds lost. more important is % of total bw lost, body comp, and how quickly the weight was lost and how it was lost.