What makes a great instructor?

lanp3960

White Belt
Reaction score
I've been thinking a lot about this lately, what makes for a really great BJJ instructor? What key traits set guys like Jacare, Keith Owen, Pedro Sauer, etc. apart from your "average" instructor? And please don't say it's being a badass BJJ player, because I'm sure we've all met someone who is amazing but can't teach to save their life.

We're all part of a sport (don't bash me for saying sport, most of us are competitors) where we can train with the very best basically for the cost of the class or a private lesson/seminar. That's rare in most sports. There's no way I could get hitting tips from Jeter or a throwing clinic from Farve, but I could go roll with Jacare and Cobrihna for the price of a plane ticket to ATL and a drop in fee.

So what is it that really sets the top-notch instructors from the average instructors. And as a side note, I have a Master's in education and am a teacher by trade, so I know a ton of pedagogical theory, but want to see how it applies to BJJ in other people's opinions.

Somebody who can really motivate you in the sport or even more generally, in life. Also somebody who can vividly explain the techniques. I guess that's what makes a great instructor in my opinion.

It kinda depends on the person learning doesn't it?

Like for me it's this:
-Someone that doesn't baby me but at the same time isn't a total asshole to me and is willing to show me, IF I ASK, what I am doing wrong.

-They know how to motivate someone.

-They understand that not everyone can do something a specific way (currently I am overweight and have trouble shrimping my hips around to do an armbar while someone is in my guard) and will show you something that may make it easier for you.