What is the biggest scam?

Alphaboy

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
I can only speak in terms of America (The US).

1. Higher Education - Colleges and Universities (And I'm a Professor!). You basically have to pay an exorbitant amount of money for a piece of paper that says you can get a job where you will earn enough to pay for the school in 50 years. Now the price of tuition wasn't always so ludicrous, but it is now. You have to spend hundreds on books that you have to renew every time they change the edition because they added the word "the" to it. I remember when I attended back in the day we had all sorts of technology fees and crap, I can only imagine how much worse it's gotten.
1 a) Student loans that leach off of said scams.​

2. Insurance - Many may not agree with me, but I think it is nonsense... especially mandated insurance and I'm speaking particularly of car insurance though others may apply. It's so crazy when you break it down... I gotta pay a recurring fee in case some shit happens. If nothing happens, they get free money. If some shit does happen to occur, they fix whatever it is for me, and charge me a deductable, then they may even "punish" me for using them by increasing my premium. Wtf??
{<huh}

I've yet to have an idiot damage my car and have their insurance pay me.

3. Healthcare - Again, I'm talking about the United States. Waiting room lollipop - $25. Insulin - $1,000. Napkins to cry in - $500. Just the thought of a hardworking person not being able to afford life-saving procedures is absurd. Hell, that's the entire premise behind Breaking Bad - a talented science teacher who also works a side job cannot afford to treat his cancer.

What do you think?

4. Sherdog Platinum Accounts - Ooh, I can change my name and add a poll on a Kung Fu forum now.
giphy.gif