What do you think of my unorthodox training?

MarcoW

Bojacked Horsehungman
@Brown
Reaction score
Hey all I have been training Goju Ryu Karate for about 10 months (I'm an orange belt) and my dojo also offers a jujutsu program which is a unique-ish program that I have just started taking (tonight will be my third class). It is very convinient as either it is right after or right before my karate class on varying days of the week.

The jujutsu program is unorthodox because of the way it is run. Because of our karate background the dojo has links to more traditional programs and as such our sensei is a 5th dan in a variation of shindo-ryu japanese jujutsu. However we are also modern so he is a brown belt in brazillian jujitsu. Both are from legitimate lineages. In the jujutsu pacakage you get access to both classes. So I will tell you about both classes I've been to so far.

Last week or so I went to my first class and it was a Brazillian jujitsu class. We started with a simple warm up, run a few laps, side step and shuffle a few laps, back pedal etc. Then we did some stretches and laps doin shoulder rolls, shrimping, reverse shrimping, breakfalls, break falls with rolls.

After the warm up we got into pairs. I was with another new white belt. We worked on some basic sweeps I think, first I did a sweep they called the rainbow sweep, drilled it quite a few times, then we added a new sweep a scissor sweep. Then we did a drill where the person on top either put pressure down or postured up and you had to pick which pass to do. Then we added a pass to the drill I don't know what it was called (please inform if you know) where you trap one of the arms or both and then roll them to that side.