1. Season 8 of the International Shoop League is now active! Vote here! »
  2. Where did your likes go? Please Read This Thread »

What are the rules for a double KO?

Discussion in 'UFC Discussion' started by spacetime, Jun 30, 2020.

  1. spacetime Double Yellow Card Double Yellow Card

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    11,664
    Likes Received:
    247
    Do both lose or is it a draw?

     
    Bubba Kid likes this.
  2. Bubba Kid Green Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Fort Mill, SC
    Depends on ref. I seen one where the first guy who stood up won.

    Edit: here first fight.
     
    Typrune Goatley and Volador like this.
  3. spacetime Double Yellow Card Double Yellow Card

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    11,664
    Likes Received:
    247
    Obviously but What if neither one stands up?
     
  4. Medulla Omoplata Mayberry Comptroller

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2017
    Messages:
    12,148
    Likes Received:
    1,820
    Ref is declared the winner.
     
  5. Travis Alexander Amateur Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,622
    Likes Received:
    501
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Ask referee Shonie Carter!

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Volador Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    3,033
    Pretty sure it’s a no contest.

    This was ruled NC:



    Carlos Newton vs Matt Hughes almost should’ve been NC, but Matt kinda woke up just in time, so he was given the win.
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2020
    Nathan LaMontagne and Bubba Kid like this.
  7. spacetime Double Yellow Card Double Yellow Card

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    11,664
    Likes Received:
    247
    That seems wrong.
     
  8. Bubba Kid Green Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Fort Mill, SC
    No contest.

    See Maynard vs emerson or lapsley vs wetherspoon.
     
  9. Doughie99 Color-Coordinated Belt

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2018
    Messages:
    7,706
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    I guess if neither gets up then ....it's declared a draw?
     
  10. jeff7b9 Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    11,224
    Likes Received:
    553
    Probably NC unless one guy gets up quick enough to justify that he could continue.
     
    Bubba Kid likes this.
  11. spacetime Double Yellow Card Double Yellow Card

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    11,664
    Likes Received:
    247
    That's crazy. NC is usually for cheating
     
  12. letgodiego Blue Belt

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    345
    the best was maynard denying it to rogan in the ring and rogan not letting him off.
     
    JoeganMoldberg and Linelo like this.
  13. Volador Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    3,033
    Just edited my post. If neither can continue it’s a no contest. I think you can only get draws when the fight goes to the judges.
     
    Bubba Kid likes this.
  14. Goon Dog Furio Belt

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8,418
    Likes Received:
    464
    Location:
    Carolina
    It happened once in a heavyweight title fight -

     
  15. spacetime Double Yellow Card Double Yellow Card

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    11,664
    Likes Received:
    247
    Yeah but it's total equilibrium if both are KOed. To me that's the most perfect draw imaginable
     
    suffersystem likes this.
  16. spacetime Double Yellow Card Double Yellow Card

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    11,664
    Likes Received:
    247
    It almost happened in one of Feodors return matches
     
    Bubba Kid likes this.
  17. linvillegorge Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    11,835
    Likes Received:
    277
    Location:
    CO
    It's really the only legit option other than calling it a draw. I mean, if it's a double KO then you both won and lost. Well, putting it that way, maybe a draw would make the most sense.
     
  18. Taric Gold Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    20,991
    Likes Received:
    249
    No contest is the correct answer. It can't be a draw because by the rules a draw can only come by way of judges decision. You have to remember that there are different kinds of draws, split draw and majority draw.
     
    Nathan LaMontagne and kenetics like this.
  19. Fight Professor Gold Belt

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    20,813
    Likes Received:
    336
    Yeah, the Mitrione fight.
     
    mmathurbator likes this.
  20. capnlarge Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    13,554
    Likes Received:
    313
    No contest seems like a weird fit but I guess draw is specifically used for decisions.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.