Went to first Jiu Jitsu/Judo class today-feel worried

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by ronki23, Jul 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronki23

ronki23 White Belt

Hey,

i've been doing Lau Gar style kickboxing on-and-off since 2005 and have got a blue belt (halfway to black) in it. I have been training pretty solidly for the last year.

In March I fought in a light-continuos kickboxing tournament in the intermediate section and was pretty much pwned by a Chinese guy; considering this tournament (with my University club) is on again next year and I am on 21 months official experience; I can't do much kickboxing because 25 months and over puts me in Advanced category (if I still fight in Beginner's in the local tournaments, i'll be K.Od in National if they put me in advanced!)

Anyway, I decided to go to Japanese Ju Jitsu class (called Bushido Judo) to keep my martial arts training up without doing kickboxing. I had done 6-10 hours Ju Jitsu with my local club but they don't teach it as part of syllabus until Black Belt and they only do one 3 hour session a month (they did approx 45 mins once a week back in '07 but they stopped).

At this Ju Jitsu club I was pretty much humiliated and thrown in at the deep end :/ I didn't know any Japanese and when Sensei told me to throw a technique, he put me in a lock,threw me down and put me in a submission. In my first demo, he even fish hooked me to get me up!

^I'm worried about 3 things

a) My cheek being torn by fish hooking
    b) My collarbone snapping from sub-standard breakfalling (I know it but haven't mastered it)
    c) My head recoiling back from a throw/me getting K.Od by hitting the matt

^Next class is next week :/ I want to be ready

One of the reasons I did this was to learn how to take the pain (i've only just learned to keep fighting/absorb the blows in stand up kickboxing but this is something else!)

P.S