"weight lifting should not hinder your main sport"

B

BigSmile

3/4 times a week thaiboxing, 3 times a week weight lifting.

I am not a pro fighter, not even an amateur. I do train as hard as my body allows me too, even harder.

Should I do less weight lifting and focus more on thaiboxing?

I am not sure anymore what weight lifting really does for me.

Thaiboxing gives me this great feeling because of all the conditioning. Weight lifting most of the time just gives me soreness and lack of energy for some reason.

So with that you mean i should just run more, do more jump rope, crosstrainer..etc right? (everything that has to do with making my condition better)

Strength training doesn't make much sense if you're doing Thai Boxing. It doesn't make you hit harder, it'll just give you muscles which will make you tire faster.

Thai boxing is pretty much 100% cardio. You'll learn to hit harder with technique, but if you wanna last longer I suggest you do cardio work, not strength training.

If your lifting is burning you out for Muay Thai, then, yes, you have problem.

But lifting is an incredibly valuable tool. If you're "not sure...what lifting really does for (you)," you've been doing it wrong.

Why don't you post some more details about your routine and situation so we can help.

I felt so dumb asking this question but now I am really glad that I did

There are guys at my gym that can hit really hard and they don't do any weight lifting at all.
But I am so used to do weight lifting, so my first asumption was to either go for strength (strength = harder punch, is what i thought) or go for 15+ reps, but this seemed to much considering 3 times a week thaiboxing

So take out the weight lifting completely?

My routine is:

3 times a week i hit the weights, which I go for 3 sets of 5 reps.