Volume and intensity workouts....

DevilMMA

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Back in my bad old bodybuilding 6-12 rep days, I used to do a lot of pyramiding/HIT style training..... (spits on the floor).

Having totally changed things up, I know only consistent weight training (eg 5 x 5 x 100). I have also seen however on here mention of 'intensity' workouts (ie 50 x 5, 60 x 5, 70 x 5, 80 x 5) whereby presumably your early sets are way sub-maximal.

What is the rationale and/or pros and cons of the 2 styles???

Wrong thread.

I'm no expert, but I think the ramping sets allow you to gradually use heavier weight.

5 sets of 100 will leave you burnt out, like 5x70, 5x80, 5x90, 5x100, 5x110 will too, you just use heavier weight.

You can't use your 5rm for straight sets.

I think that 5x5 for straight sets (as in the same weight for all 5 sets) is just too much volume most of the time. I believe most 5x5 programs (e.g. Bill Starr, Madcow) have you ramp up to a top set.

The reason for this is that there are benefits to both volume and intensity, but having both in the same workout doesn't usually work. It's beneficial to get in a good number of reps, and it's also good to go heavy, but one will limit the other. I.e. you can't work up to a 5rm, and do sets across with the same weight.

Also it can change what's most fatigued from a workout. A high intensity but lower volume workout will tax the CNS more than the muscles. And vice versa for a higher volume but lower intensity workout.

Eventually you may find that you tend to get more out of volume, or more out of intensity, and plan your workouts accordingly, like if you find you really benefit from volume, something like Sheiko could work well, or if you like intensity, maybe more ME work.

Sub maximal sets are warmup sets.

If you do sub maximal sets after you have completed your work sets.

Then this can aid in some hypertrophy.