USB Charging/Data Cables - can't believe I didn't know.

rj144

Steel Belt
@Steel
Reaction score
I am a very tech literate person. I have lots of gadgets that I know how to use well. I just realized, after years of using these things, there's a difference between a USB charging and data cable. I thought every USB cable can both charge and transmit data, but no.

I was just trying to connect my phone to my computer, but the phone did not show up. It was only charging. I thought it was a USB problem and restarted... same thing. Then I thought it might be the cable, so I switched the cable and it worked. But, then I looked at the cables and the ends are different.

I never knew that and it's weird I didn't.

I am a very tech literate person. I have lots of gadgets that I know how to use well. I just realized, after years of using these things, there's a difference between a USB charging and data cable. I thought every USB cable can both charge and transmit data, but no.

I was just trying to connect my phone to my computer, but the phone did not show up. It was only charging. I thought it was a USB problem and restarted... same thing. Then I thought it might be the cable, so I switched the cable and it worked. But, then I looked at the cables and the ends are different.

Every cable I've ever owned did both. I didn't know that either. I knew there were different types though lol.

I knew this cause the cheap after market charging cables I buy never let my phone get recognized by my PC
Never looked into it so I didnt know there was an actual thing called a data cable though

In my expereince every charging cable for my phone has worked as a data transfer cable.

Found that out when trying Android Auto. Thought it didnt work. Got the right cable and voila